Houston, Texas – Earth/Energy

Highlights from 2013:

Keynote: Janine Antoni Randall Session: Bill Bowers Distinguished Lecture: Namita Gupta Wiggers (invited) Closing Lecture: Clayton Bailey Demonstrating Artists: Bede Clarke Gerit Grimm Kristen Kieffer Walter McConnell 2013 Biennial 2013 NJSE 2013 Conferrence Awards 2013 National Exhibition Earth Moves View a Slide Show of Artworks:

Watch videos of some of our Demostrating Artists:

A native of Freeport, the Bahamas, Antoni is a MacArthur Fellow whose work in performance art, sculpture, and photography focus on process and the transitions between the making and finished product. Investigations involving touch and everyday activities–bathing, eating, have been central themes in Anotnia��s decades-log creative output. She has recently been developing a new body of work incorporating fired and un-fired clay and is excited to share her insights and questions about the material with NCECAa��s community.
Bill Bowers is an actor, mime, performance artist and educator whose works have been presented throughout the US, Canada and Europe. For the Randall Session Bowers will present IT GOES WITHOUT SAYING a uniquely crafted autobiographical work that engages viewers through humorous, heartbreaking, and unbelievable true stories. Co-written and co-developed with Martha Banta, the work embodies the artista��s life-long exploration of the role silence plays in our lives. From his childhood in the wilds of Montana, to outrageous jobs as a performer across the country, to the whirlwind of Broadway and studying with the legendary Marcel Marceau, IT GOES WITHOUT SAYING has been inspiring enthusiastic audiences off-Broadway and across the US.
Namita Gupta Wiggers is Director and Chief Curator, A�Museum of Contemporary Craft in partnership with Pacific Northwest College of Art, Portland, OR, where she has directed the curatorial since 2004. Her curatorial work combines her experience and training as an art historian, a museum educator, ethnographer and design researcher, teacher, writer, and studio art jeweller. Through exhibitions and programming, Wiggers considers how craft and design function as subjects and verbs, and as simultaneously distinct and intersecting practices, and how the exhibition operates as a site and space for cultural inquiry. She is the author of several publications, including Generations: Betty Feves (2012), Ken Shores: Clay Has the Last Word (2010), and editor of GarthA�Clarka��sA�How Envy Killed the Crafts Movement: An Autopsy in Two PartsA�(2009). She is the co-founder of Critical Craft Forum, and serves on theA�Board of Trustees, American Craft Council, and theA�curatorial board of accessceramics, on online clay-focused database.
Clayton G. Bailey was born in Antigo, Wisconsin in 1939. He studied ceramics and sculpture with Harvey K. Littleton at the University of Wisconsin- Madison; graduating in 1962. He taught ceramics at California State University, Hayward, for 28 years, and is currently Professor Emeritus. He was named a Fellow of NCECA in 1982, and was the recipient ofA� National Endowment For the Arts Fellowships in 1979 and in 1990. He was nominated for the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1979 for his discovery of a�?kaolisma�? (a process in which mud is thermally metamorphosed into pseudo-scientific curiosities). He holds US Patent # 440390 for a cup that squirts in your face, and he was honored with a 50 year retrospective exhibition by the Crocker Art Museum in Sacramento, CA in 2011. His many ceramic wonders and inventions are featured on his award winning web site:
Demonstrating Artists
Bede Clarke is a Professor of Art at the University of Missouri. He maintains a studio in Columbia, Missouri. Recent exhibits include: Yingge Ceramics Museum 2012 Taiwan Ceramics Biennale, Ogden Museum of Southern Art, New Orleans, LA, and, Arvada Center for Fine Arts and Humanities, Arvada, CO.
Gerit Grimm grew up and worked as a pottery apprentice and journeyman in Germany. She studied ceramics at Burg Giebichenstein, Michigan School of Art, Alfred University, taught at CSULB, Pitzer College, Doane College, MSU Bozeman and works now as an Assistant Professor at University of Wisconsin in Madison.
Kristen Kieffer is a full-time studio potter, workshop leader, and ceramics instructor in Massachusetts. She received her BFA from the N.Y.S.C.C. at Alfred University and MFA from Ohio University. Kristen has work in numerous public and private collections, has exhibited her work internationally in juried and invitational exhibitions, as well as taught workshops around the country at craft centers and universities.
Professor of Ceramic Art at Alfred University, is well known for his installations of moist clay and towering assemblages of cast porcelain. He is the recipient of grants from, The Joan Mitchell Foundation, The Louis Comfort Tiffany Foundation and The New York Foundation for the Arts. Recent exhibitions include, The Denver Art Museum, The Philadelphia Museum of Art and MASS MoCA.
Jake Allee
Paul Donnelly
David Katz
Tim Placek
W. Robert Ashurst
Macy Dorf
Jacques Kaufmann
Laura Primozic
Nel Bannier
Lee Eagle
Bonnie Kemske
Anthony Quinn
Susan Barnett
Mark Epstein
Jason Kishell
Don Reitz
Dave Bartlett
Jill Foote-Hutton
Jessica Kreutter
Katherine Ross
Peter Beasecker
Barbara Frey
Tom Lauerman
Anthony Schaller
George Bowes
Laura Fry
Jim Lawton
Justin Schortgen
Steven Branfman
Anastasia Gabriel
Marc Leuthold
Jessica Shaykett
Laura Breen
Lauren Gallaspy
Brenda Lichman
Bobby Silverman
Cynthia Bringle
Amber Ginsburg
Steve Loucks
Jim Skutt
John Britt
Jim Gubernick
Billy Ray Mangham
Jenni Sorkin
Randy Brodnax
Holly Hanessian
Ryan McKerley
Jeffrey Spahn
Christie Brown
Roy Hanscom
Karen McPherson
Shawn Spangler
Richard Burkett
Robert Harrison
Shari McWilliams
Michael Strand
Margaret Carney
Rebecca Harvey
Anthony Merino
Cindi Strauss
Mary Louise Carter
Daphne Hatcher
Brian Molanphy
Tom Supensky
Doug Casebeerr
Gwen Heeney
Mary Molinaro
Linda Swanson
Debra Chroniste
Steven Heinemann
Joe Molinaro
Ryan Takaba
Sunshine Cobb
Steven Hill
Tybre Newcomer
Howard Taylor
Michel Conroy
Kevin Hluch
Winnie Owens-Hart
Katherine Taylor
Jess Riva Cooper
Coille Hooven
Colby Parsons
Clare Twomey
Bryan Czibesz
Brian R. Jones
Mark Pharis
Jen Woodin
Greg Daly
Jonathan Kaplan
Lindsay Pichaske

2013 Awards and Awardees