“Ceramic Interface: from Dawn to Digital”
Phoenix, Arizona

Held in odd-numbered years, the NCECA Biennial is the premier juried exhibition open to all current members of NCECA (both national and international) and to all ceramic artists, 18 years and older, residing in the U.S.  Merit and purchase awards totaling approximately $7,000 are determined by the jurors. NCECA produces a color catalog featuring work by all participating artists.

2009 Clay National Biennial Participating Artists

Bill Abright
Nikki Anderson
Chuck Aydlett
Ingrid Bathe
Brian Benfer
Rebekah Bogard
Heather Bren
Jason  Briggs
Ane Fabricius Christiansen
Judith Condon
David Crane
Chad Curtis
Susan  Dewsnap
Heather Mae  Erickson
Sean Erwin
Elissa Farrow-Savos
Shanna Fliegel
Barbara Frey
Verne Funk
Cynthia Giachetti
Perry Haas
Bryan Hopkins
Ayumi Horie
Matthew Hyleck
Roxanne Jackson

Margaret Keelan
Kristen Kieffer
Marina Kuchinski
Kasumi Lampitoc
Stephanie Lanter

Jae Won Lee
Sarah Lindley
Jason Loik
James  Marshall
Karen T Massaro
Paul Mathieu
Lauren Mayer
Brian Molanphy
Elaine Parks
Colby  Parsons
Anne Drew Potter
Paul Sacaridiz
Amanda Salov
Gloria Singer
Kevin Snipes
Tip Toland
Andreya Vivaldi
Kinu Watanabe
John Williams
Merrie Wright

The Arizona State University Art Museum’s Ceramics Research Center hosted the 2009 NCECA Clay National Biennial March 22 – May 30, 2009. This exhibition was held in conjunction with the 43rd annual NCECA Conference in Phoenix, Arizona, April 8-11, 2009.

JURORS: Christy Johnson, Jeanne Quinn, Chris Staley

Ceramics Monthly Magazine
Clay Times Magazine
L & L Kiln Mfg Inc.
National Council on Education for the Ceramic Arts
Skutt Kilns
Trax Gallery
Paper Clay Award
International Award


The Exhibitions are a great wake up call to what's out there and the commitment that the work demonstrates. It is great seeing my students eyes light up when they see the exhibitions.
— Educator