Recipients of the Excellence in Teaching Award are individuals who are near or at the end of a career dedicated to the practice of teaching (may be awarded posthumously); have demonstrated excellence in their own creative work; have previous recognition for and a history of awards in teaching; and have highly visible former students in the field.


The following are recipients of Excellence in Teaching Awards from 1993 through 2014:

1993  Robert Arneson (posthumous) (deceased)
1994  Ken Ferguson, Shawnee Mission, Kansas (deceased)
1996  Val Cushing, Alfred, New York (deceased)
1997  Don Reitz, Clarkdale, Arizona (deceased)
1998  Peter Voulkos, Oakland, California (deceased)
1999  Maija Grotell (posthumous) (deceased)
2002  Warren MacKenzie, Stillwater, Minnesota
2003  Dick Hay, Brazil, Indiana
2005  Donna L. Nicholas, Edinboro, Pennsylvania
2006  Joe Bova, Santa Fe, New Mexico
2007  Paul Bernhardt, West Chester, Pennsylvania (deceased)
2008  Harris Deller, Carbondale, Illinois
2008  Ron Meyers, Athens, Georgia
2009 Gail Kendall, Lincoln, Nebraska
2009 Dan Anderson, Edwardsville, Illinois
2010 Bunny McBride, Iowa City, Iowa
2010 Yoshiro Ikeda, Manhattan, Kansas
2011 David MacDonald, Syracuse, New York
2012 Jack Troy,
Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
2012 Chuck Hindes,
Coupeville, Washington
2013 George Timock,
Kansas City, Missouri
2013 Barbara Frey,
Commerce, Texas
2014 Mark Burns,
Las Vegas, Nevada
2014 Randy Johnston,
River Falls, Wisconsin

“Great job…keep up the good work!”
2008 Pittsburgh Conference attendee,